The College of Arts and Architecture

Holtkamp Organ Opus #1793, 1965 - Esber Recital Hall

Holtkamp organ in recital hallThe organ was installed in 1963. The company won an architectural design award for its aesthetic properties and its innovative incorporation into an existing space. The instrument was renovated in 2009, converting it to a solid state system with 99 levels of memory (the first 10 memory settings for visiting organists), correcting some winding issues, releathering, recovering the Schwimmers, replacing the pouch board, and preparing for the addition of a 16' Bourdon.


Quintadena 16’, Principal 8’, Gedackt 8’ (metal), Octave 4’, Spitzflöte 4’, Doublette 2’, Mixture IV, Scharf III, Dulzian 16’, Trumpet 8’, Pos. to Gt. 16’, Pos. to Gt.

Copula 8’, Principal 4’, Rohrflöte 4’, Octave 2’, Blockflöte 2’, Sesquialtera 2 2/3’, Quinta 1 1/3’, Fourniture III, Cromorne 8’, Tremulo

Principal 16’, Sub Bass 16’, Quintadena 16’ (Gt.), Octave 8’, Gedackt 8’ (wood), Choral Bass 4’, Mixture IV, Fagott 16’, Dulzian 16’, Schalmey 4’, Gt. to Ped., Pos. to Ped.

28 stops; 37 ranks.  The organ is unenclosed.

Compass:  Manuals – 61 notes; Pedal – 32 notes (AGO standard pedalboard)

Key action:  electromagnetic

Combination system: solid state with 99 levels of memory (added in 2005 by the S.D.G. Organ Co., Millersville, PA)

10 general pistons (thumb and toe)

4 pistons each for the Great (thumb), Positiv (thumb), and Pedal (thumb and toe)

General piston sequencer: + (Up) and – (Down) -- thumb and toe

Cancel and Set buttons: Transposer and Memory buttons

Couplers: Great to Pedal and Positiv to Pedal – thumb and toe

Tutti I and Tutti II (toe) and Crescendo pedal – programmable