The College of Arts and Architecture
  • garcia logo

Marian Garcia Collegiate Piano Competition

Application deadline: December 15, 2015

First prize: $1,000; Second prize: $500

The collegiate division is open to piano students currently pursuing a music degree at any level (undergrad, M.M., or D.M.A.), who are enrolled and currently residing or studying in the United States. To be eligible, applicants must be prepared with the following repertoire:

1.  Major work by J.S. Bach (i.e., Prelude and Fugue, principal movements of suites, Italian Concerto)

2.  Complete classical sonata (Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, etc.)

3.  Major work of the contestant's choice from the Romantic, 20th-century, or 21st-century literature

With the exception of avant-garde works, all repertoire must be memorized.

Note: Judges are professional pianists. Judges' decisions on all awards and eligibility will be final.

Students must be available at the awards ceremony to remain eligible for any prizes.

For more information, or questions about any part of the Garcia competition process, please call 814-863-4413 or email

Click to apply for the Collegiate Piano Competition